Heriot’s Governors

The Board of Governors oversees the activities of George Heriot’s Trust

The Board of Governors oversees the activities of George Heriot’s Trust, which was established in 1624 to found our school. The Board supervises and scrutinises how the school is run.

Mrs Joyce Cullen became Chairman of the Board in July 2020. Professor Mark Strachan is Vice Chairman. Governors are appointed and there must be at least six in post at any one time. The Board and its various committees meet regularly, as required.

George Heriot’s Trust is a registered charity. The Board operates under the terms of the George Heriot’s Trust Scheme 2017.

Reset filters Filter:

Mrs Kate Cherry

Convenor of Bursaries, Foundation & Scholarships Committee

Read Bio

Mrs Joyce Cullen

Chair of Governors

Read Bio

Mr Ian Herok

Convenor of the
People Committee

Read Bio

Mr Vineet Lal

Convenor of the Parent-Governor Liaison Committee.

Read Bio

Mr Andrew McGeough

Chair of the Heriot Enterprises Limited Board

Read Bio

Ross McAuley

Member of the Finance & Resources Committee.

Read Bio

Mrs Nicola McLaughlan

Convenor of the Development Committee

Read Bio

Dr Pauline Sangster

Convenor of Education Committee

Read Bio

Mr Cameron Stott

Member of the Finances & Resources Committee

Read Bio

Professor Mark Strachan

Vice Chairman
of Governors

Read Bio

Mr Alan Urquhart

Member of the
Education Committee

Read Bio

Board reports

Read the Trust’s most recent Consolidated Financial Statements and Governors’ Report, for the year to 31 July 2022.

View the Trust’s Gender Pay Gap Commentary, published March 2020.