Scottish Rowing Championship Regatta

An impressive weekend for the George Heriot’s Rowers at The Scottish Rowing Championship Regatta – the premier event in the Scottish Rowing calendar.
The weekend started off well with the Women’s Junior 16 Pair of Jessica Stuart and Heather Taylor (both S4) coming second in both the time trials and the side-by-side racing. Paul Ferguson and Rhuari Stuart (both S6) came third in the Open Junior 18 Pair putting them in good stead to be selected for Scotland in this summer’s Home International Regatta against some of the junior best rowers in Great Britain and Ireland.

On Saturday the impressive results continued as the Open Non-Championship (which allowed those not in our first crews to enjoy racing on a competitive level) Coxed Four crew of Archie Weech (S5), Douglas Richards (S4), Fraser Innes (S5), Euan Ravenscroft and their cox Philippa Lloyd (both S6) won their event by almost five seconds. Furthermore, the Women’s Non-Championship Quad of Grace Anderson, Eleanor Black, Amelie Gilbert, Abbie Forbes and their cox Joshua Jenkins (all S5) came in a narrow second to a quick Stirling RC boat.

Throughout the weekend the Non-Championship scullers performed well with four singles reaching the A final, and the girls’ and boys’ “A” doubles (Eleanor Black and Grace Anderson; Douglas Richards and Ben Wilson (S4)) coming third and fourth respectively. The Open Junior 18 Coxed Four of Rhuari Stuart, Joshua Jenkins, Thomas Lloyd (S6), Paul Ferguson and their cox Olivia Brindle (S5) came second in their category as part of an ongoing battle with Aberdeen Schools Rowing Association.
In the Junior 15 events (for those under 16) we had impressive performances from our S3 crews who for many this was their first event. In the new Junior 15 single skills assessment, all three scullers exceeded expectations.

We offer our thanks to our wonderful coaches Mr Davidson and Miss D’Urso for their help across the season and thank our outgoing S6’s as this is their last regatta with the whole club. We especially want to thank our captains, Thomas Lloyd, Catriona Taylor and Philippa Lloyd for all their hard work and encouragement.

Fraser Innes, Olivia Brindle, Eleanor Black